Connect with us

iOS Hacker

WhatsApp Now Lets Users Delete Sent Messages

Apps

WhatsApp Now Lets Users Delete Sent Messages

WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature to its iOS app, which will allow users to delete messages after sending them. This means if you have sent out a message to a wrong person, made an error in the message or regret sending a particular message, then you can delete that message from the recipient’s device.

Users will only be able to delete a sent message within 7 minutes of sending it. Once first 7 minutes have passed, they will not be able to remove the message from anyone’s device. For a message that was deleted by its sender, WhatsApp will show “This message was deleted” to the receiver telling them a message was deleted, without revealing what the message was. The delete feature will be available in both individual and group conversations.

Another important thing to note about this feature is that when sender deletes a message, it can only be removed from the receiver’s device if they are using latest version of WhatsApp for iOS, Android or Windows Phone. If they are using some older version, then the message won’t get deleted. You will not be notified if the message was successfully deleted or not.

WhatsApp is rolling out the message delete feature gradually, so it may take some time for it to become available on your account. Until then it is better to think twice before you hit that ‘Send’ button.

Here’s how you delete a message for everyone on WhatsApp

  1. Launch WhatsApp app and go to the chat page you want to delete a message from.
  2. Tap and hold on the message you want to delete and select ‘Delete’ from the popup menu. You may have to tap on next arrow to access Delete option.
  3. At this point you can also choose other messages that you want to delete.
  4. Finally tap on the ‘Delete’ button and then select ‘Delete for Everyone’.

The ability to delete WhatsApp messages is both good and bad. On one hand it allows users to fix a mistake, but on the other hand it allows the sender to delete a harmful message after sending it. If you can delete a threatening message after the receiver has read it, then it cannot be used as evidence during investigation. Sure you can take screenshots, but since screenshots can easily be faked, they are not as credible as real messages received from accused WhatsApp account. Perhaps WhatsApp can fix this by disabling the delete feature for read messages.

What are you thoughts on this feature? Let us know in the comments section below.


Click to comment

More in Apps

Recent

Trending

To Top