Connect with us

iOS Hacker

How To Increase Or Decrease iPhone’s Screen Timeout Settings

How to

How To Increase Or Decrease iPhone’s Screen Timeout Settings

iphone-main

iPhone or iPad’s display automatically turns off and the device gets locked after some time of inactivity. The iPhone screen timeout happens to make sure there is no loss of battery as well as to prevent any unauthorized person from using the device. However the default screen timeout settings might be too long or too short for you, and you might want to increase or decrease this setting. Thankfully iOS allows users to change the Auto-Lock settings, making it possible for them to choose the screen timeout of their liking.

By changing a simple setting you can change the screen timeout on iPhone. The steps for changing screen timeout are same for all models of iPhone including iPhone X, iPhone XR, iPhone XS and iPhone XS Max. This also includes older devices such as iPhone 8, iPhone 7 and iPhone 6s.

What is Screen Timeout on iPhone or iPad?

Screen Timeout setting allows users to set custom time after which the screen automatically turns off. The screen timeout setting turns off the screen after the specified time and locks the device. Right screen timeout settings can help improve a device’s security and save battery life.

Those with iPads and iPod touch can also use the following guide to change screen timeout settings and set a different auto-lock time on iOS.

How to change Auto-Lock time on iOS

auto-lock-ios

  1. On your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch open the Settings app.
  2. Now tap on ‘Display & Brightness’ from the menu.
  3. Next tap on ‘Auto-Lock’ option.
  4. On the next page you will find different options including 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes, 3 minutes, 4 minutes, 5 minutes and ‘Never’.

You can choose the amount of time for screen timeout on iPhone based on your personal requirements. We recommend that you choose a shorter time such as 30 seconds or 1 minute to prevent unauthorized people from accessing your device while it is unlocked. It is recommended to not use the ‘Never’ option especially on iPhone that contains your private data. Choosing a longer timeout setting can also negatively affect the battery life of your device.


Subscribe to our channel

Click to comment

More in How to

Recent



Trending

To Top